Tinubu wins presidential election in Niger, Bello clinches senate seat


The Presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has won the presidential election in Niger state.

Tinubu polled a total of 375,183 votes to defeat his rivals in the elections in the state.

The results from the 25 local government areas of the state announced by the presidential election Collation Officer for Niger state, Professor Clement Alawa in Minna revealed that the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP candidate, Atiku Abubakar came second with 284,898 votes

Peter Obi, the Labour Party, LP, candidate scored 80,452 votes while the presidential candidate of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP, Dr. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso

came a distant fourth with 2,1836 votes.

According to him, total valid votes were 778,668, total votes were cast 34,687 while 813,355 votes were rejected.

Also, the state Governor Alh Abubakar Sani Bello won the senatorial seat of the Niger North Senatorial District election having polled 100,197 votes to beat Shehu Muhammad Abdullahi of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, with 88,153 votes.

Declaring the results, the Returning Officer, Professor Kolo Zaccheaus FUT Minna, said Alhaji Ibrahim Wali of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP, scored 13,886 votes.

READ ALSO: Obi sweeps 12 of 21 LGs results declared in Anambra

Similarly, Senator Mohammed Sani Musa was declared the winner of the Niger East Senatorial District election for a second term.

He defeated the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, candidate, Isyaku Ibrahim to clinch the senatorial seat in the presidential and National Assembly elections on Saturday.

The Returning Officer, Professor Mohammed Tsado Saba, declaring the results of the election in Minna, said a total of 334, 319 votes were cast during the election.

Saba explained that APC candidate Musa polled 159, 650 votes to beat the PDP candidate, Isyaku Ibrahim, who got 125,292 votes.

According to him, the senatorial candidate of the Labour Party, LP, Ibrahim Adamu Bagudi polled 35,941 votes, while that of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP, Danladi Umar Abdulhamid, scored 7,012 votes.

However, a total of 10,832 votes were rejected.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

1 × 5 =

Related articles