UCL: Real reason referee asked Havertz to retake penalty against Dortmund – Walton

Published:

Former professional referee, Peter Walton has insisted the correct decision was made when Kai Havertz was told to retake his penalty as Chelsea beat Borussia Dortmund 2-0 in the Champions League on Tuesday night.

Referee Danny Makkelie spotted both sets of players had encroached the box as Havertz hit the post with his spot-kick.

Makkelie ordered Havertz to take the penalty again, which the Germany international scored.

READ ALSO: UCL: Rio Ferdinand rates Chelsea’s chances

Walton said on BT Sport: “That is encroachment, yes.

“He’s clearly in the area there, and what it is is he has a material effect on the ball. The ball comes back off the post and when you see it, it’s the player who’s encroached who clears the ball.”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

six − three =

Related articles