Bayelsa Guber: Timipre Sylva wins another LG


The governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the ongoing election in Bayelsa State, Timipre Sylva has secured victory in Brass Local Government Area of the state.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC announced this during the collation of results on Monday afternoon.

READ ALSO: My family eager to see me play for Super Eagles — Tella

Upon resumption of collation at 12:42 on Monday, the state Returning Officer, Prof Faruq Kuta, declared that the APC candidate polled 18, 431 in Brass LG while Governor Douye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP garnered 12,602.

So far, the governor has won five of the eight local government areas in the state while Sylva secured victory in two LGAs.

Results from Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Yenagoa, Sagbama, Nemb, Ekeremor and Brass LGAs are out, remaining only that of Southern Ijaw.

The winner of the Saturday election is expected to be announced later in the day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

ten + eight =

Related articles