BREAKING: Bayelsa Guber: INEC declares Diri winner of governorship election


The Independent National Electoral Commission, on Monday, announced the incumbent Governor, Douye Diri, winner of the Bayelsa State governorship election held on Saturday.

Diri, defeated Chief Timipre Sylva, candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and sixteen others in the Saturday election.

READ ALSO: Borno govt begins enrolment of indigent persons into healthcare services

The State Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Prof. Kuta Farouk, made the announcement at the Prof. Mahmood Yakubu Media Centre, INEC, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State.

The incumbent Governor won in six of the eight local government areas of the state while his closest rival and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Timipre Sylva, won only two LGAs.

Prof. Farouk, said the winner of the election, Gov. Douye Diri, scored 175, 196 votes, to defeat his closest rival, Chief Timipre Sylva, who got 110, 108 votes.

The total number of registered voters is 1,056,862, while accredited voters stood at 372,000.

The LGAs won by the PDP candidate include Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Yenagoa, Sagbama, Nembe, Ekeremor, Brass, and Southern Ijaw, while Chief Sylva of the APC, won Nembe and Brass LGAs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

15 − 2 =

Related articles