INEC declares APC’s Ododo winner of Kogi governorship election


The All Progressives Congress governorship candidate, Usman Ododo, has been declared winner of the just concluded November 11 governorship election in Kogi State.

According to INEC, Ododo won with 446,237 votes. Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party garnered 259,052, and Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party came third with 46,362 votes.

This is despite INEC announcing that fresh polls will be conducted in some polling units in the Ogori/Magongo Local Government Area of the state on November 18, 2023.

READ ALSO: Troops neutralise 3 bandits in Kaduna

Ododo is said to have won in 13 out of 21 local government areas in the state.

Announcing the result on Sunday evening, Nov. 12, the Returning Officer for the Kogi State governorship election, Prof Johnson Urama said: “Ahmed Ododo of APC, having certified by the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.” 

Following the announcement, Ododo became the number one trending topic of discussion amongst Nigerians on X as they share their opinion on the Kogi state election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

six + fifteen =

Related articles